I don’t know who to say “Thank YOU” to!

I don’t want to take too much time this morning. I feel guilty…no this is not a confession session…but I wanted to apologize for the vast gap between my blog posts! I am sure you are wondering how dad is doing. I will fill you in on that at a later date but for now…he is doing good. We had a few set backs in his year long endeavor with his cellulitis, toes and leg. He is now at home and I must say how proud I am of him and his encouraging attitude through all his troubles.

Although I am thankful to the Lord for all that HE has brought us through with dad, I am not here to talk about dad. I am here to say thank you. To whom? Well, I don’t know. Really. I don’t know!

Yesterday my daughter and I went on a few errand runs for my grandmother. Bless her heart she tries to run everywhere and can barely walk out the door! So, we got a good jump on the day and went to a few shops to pick up all the wrong things for granny (LOL – bless her!).  At one of those shops walked in on two females having a very personal and loud conversation. It was not an argument…just loud girls talking about their…um… personal situations with the opposite sex. No matter where I went with my little in the store…. you could hear their mouths. At first glance they were beautiful girls. One of the heavier nature and one of the …grab a chicken leg, girl you need to eat, nature. But none the less both “looked” rather beautiful and well put together. Their outward appearance was rather nice.  But then….. she opened her mouth!  As soon as the conversation started I knew I had to get isles away because my little princess has large ears! She picks up on everything and doesn’t mind asking questions. However, I encourage questions….I do not like for such little ears to HAVE to WONDER beyond their years. No more than probably 17 themselves…the drama of the conversation and the situations they are in were ….well…..I don’t have words for! (pick your mouth up…off the floor. Sometimes I just can’t find the words to say! I does happen, you know!)

Okay, so there I was, in the middle of the store. I was sporting my bright blue “JESUS paid it ALL” T-Shirt with a nail pierced hand on the front.  As I walk by the females (at this point there is no way I am giving them the title of LADIES), I feel an overwhelming sense to bow my chest out in order to make sure they see my shirt all the while pushing my child along while covering her ears. And so I did.  I even pulled a Vanna White and underlined the name of Jesus on my shirt as I walked by!!!!!! The looks from the females was priceless but didn’t change a thing. They didn’t even stop to catch a breath – I was dodging mouth trash the whole way down the isles while Kaylyn is asking (in a rather loud voice), “Mommy…why we in a hurry? Is the devil chasing us?”  Later on I asked her why she thought the Devil was chasing us and she said, “You said he was there. You said, oooooh… that’s just the devil!” See…she does listen to everything I say! Oh be careful little Mommies what you say!

I thought we had dodged a bullet from the devil with those mouthy harlots until we got in line! ARGH!!!  There I was in line. Praise the Lord Kaylyn was being entertained by the little girl in front of us to pay no never mind to what was going on around us (keep in mind they STILL hear!) I casually looked over my shoulder and there he was. No, not the girls. Oh they were still there..but they were in the isle right behind me. This small gentleman was standing between the isle and another cash register. When I looked over my shoulder…his eyes met mine. He was a rather short black man. Maybe in his late 50s. His eyes were blood shot red. His clothes were not dirty but not neat either. ….and having to live in a world where most do not care what Christianity is like (or play the Christianity game with a Bible in one hand and a liquor bottle in another) – I automatically assumed he was of an intoxicated manner. I am sorry to say that I judged him from his outer appearance in which I quickly dealt with within my own heart! He was all smiles and eyes wide open. Kaylyn didn’t mind it… she gave a sweet big smile back and a gleeful “Hey” and a small wave of the hand. After standing in line for a few seconds…. the sound of those girls started ringing louder. I wish I could explain it…the way it was at that moment….I turned, I caught his glimpse, defeat of such content coming from the mouths behind us on my face…a quick glance back at my little girl…and all this was acknowledged by his facial expression and then I turned back around. It was a quick 2 seconds. Then I heard it…..

“Girls, this is not the place for that. Those things need to be kept in the privacy of your own home. There are little ears around here. You could be better than this.”

My heart smiled.

My heart ached. Those girls had no respect for anyone. As soon as that precious man made his statement one girl made a few quick yells and down the isle she went. It was awful. the disrespect, the worldliness, the lack of common kindness or consideration for children present or for the elderly and this little man never blinked an eye to help without anyone asking.

I paid for my things and turned around to say Thank You and he was gone. He didn’t go out the door. I was making sure of that…I kept my eyes on the door to make sure he didn’t get away without me atleast shaking his hand, giving him money, or something that he needed. I looked around. It was a very small store so I walked to find him. He was nowhere to be found! Where could he have went? There was no restroom. The sign said unavailable. I looked outside. Nothing. No one. Hmm….. then it hit me.

Hebrews 13:2 – Be not forgetful to entertain strangers: for thereby some have entertained angels unawares.

He was my angel for the day.

When we least expect it….God always has someone or something there let us know that He is always near.

This child of the KING has been blessed!

Another lesson in modesty for my little one. Modesty is not just in dress.

mod·est

[mod-ist] Show IPA

adjective

1. having or showing a moderate or humble estimate of one’s merits, importance, etc.; free from vanity, egotism, boastfulness, or great pretensions.
2. free from ostentation or showy extravagance: a modest house.
3. having or showing regard for the decencies of behavior, speech, dress, etc.; decent: a modest neckline on a dress.
4. limited or moderate in amount, extent, etc.: a modest increase in salary.
Beauty without modesty
God bless….and remember…..there are little ones that hear every thing you say…..and be kind to everyone. You may just encounter my angel! 🙂
KIM
Leave a Reply

